Making research verifiable with Open Data

Open Research Data are an important area of Open Science and promote trust in science. If data are made available, free of technical, financial and legal barriers, this improves traceability, increases efficiency and enables better quality assurance. Currently, research data are often still inaccessible, stored on USB sticks and private storage media. When research results are published to a wider audience with comprehensive documentation, it is easier to check them for robustness and to reproduce them. Open Research Data therefore contribute to strengthening the trust in science that has been endangered in the light of the replication crisis.

Making research data available is gradually becoming standard practice; it is also a central element in good scientific practice and reproducible research. It should be accompanied by systematic research data management, which also offers many practical advantages for day-to-day research. Furthermore, research organisations are increasingly demanding that researchers compile data management plans that give information on how they make their research data available.

Generally speaking, Open Data can be downloaded, analysed, reused and shared by others. The identification of the person providing the data is derived from the licence under which the data is published (e.g. CC-BY 4.0). There are good reasons, however, why open and transparent research data are not always 100% practical. Research data should therefore be “as open as possible and as closed as necessary”; in science we speak of FAIR Data in this context. But the fact that the mere existence of data is known, already represents an important first step.

Open Data offers these advantages

Advantages for researchers:

  • Higher citation rates: Text publications for which data are made available are cited more frequently. After all, they are read more often and perceived as being more reputable. Moreover, if publication takes place independently, you can cite the data yourself. This means that a single publication can lead to more citations, thanks to Open Data.
  • Important recognition for your research career: If you practice Open Data, you improve the traceability and visibility of your research – and can thereby receive the recognition that is important for your research career more easily.
  • New cooperation opportunities: The higher level of attention that your research receives can also lead to new opportunities for collaborations.

Advantages for the science community:

  • Easier access to useful data: Researchers receive access to important data more easily. The preparation of higher quality data products (such as indices, databases) by combining data is thereby also possible.
  • Use in teaching: Data are made accessible for teaching and therefore also for students, who can learn how to apply methods using real research data.
  • More efficient research: The duplication of work is avoided by Open Data and secondary analyses can be carried out. A comprehensive scientific evaluation and utilisation of the data (for example in follow-on projects) is possible.
  • Data are archived and retained for future use: The publication of data in repositories protects from data loss and the risk that they are no longer usable owing to obsolete formats.
  • New research is enabled: As data that is already available can be incorporated into new analyses, new and interdisciplinary research is promoted. Another person with a different way of looking at things may be able to make an important discovery on the basis of apparently irrelevant data.

Advantages for the public:

  • Opportunities for citizen science: Open Data creates new opportunities for citizen science.
  • Economic advantages for the corporate sector: According to estimations, the global GDP could be increased in all sectors by Open Data. Scientific data play a central role here. The economy profits from easier access to information and more opportunities for cooperation, and can develop new services and business models in return.
  • Public trust in science: Open Data promotes trust in research because the robustness of published research results can be checked and research results can be reproduced.
Es sind die Vorteile von Open Data aufgeführt.

Opening up and sharing research data is therefore worth it: Those who share their research data with others, support the research community – and profit in turn from how other people handle data in an open way.

Knowledge Base Open Data

Learn how Open Data makes research verifiable: For easily accessible and more cited high-impact science!

Open Data in the field of economics

Open Data has become an important field for researchers over recent years. The increasing number of scientific datasets has led to more questions concerning their accessibility, use and how they are curated. In the field of economics, the increased importance of empirical research data and the increasing free availability of research data is playing a major role. Data from official statistics are being made freely accessible on the internet by statistic authorities, both nationally and internationally, according to the principle of “Open Government Data”. The spectrum of research data that is interesting for Open Data is immense: Research data are all data that are created during a scientific project. In the case of most scientific publications, only a small proportion of the data collected during the research is published in the final publication.

Science benefits, however, if the entire data of a project is made publicly available as rapidly as possible. The fastest way to do this is to deposit the dataset directly in a repository. Another possibility is to publish a data publication that primarily consists of the dataset and its description. As data that are prepared during publicly funded research are public property, more and more research funding bodies are requiring that they are made publicly available.

More citation benefits

Finding ears to listen beyond the boundaries of research

More transparency

Replications are hard work that pays off

More visibility in the field

Open Science is the future

Better networking

Open Science requires and fosters international networking

Share this page:

Forschung mit Open Data überprüfbar machen

Offene Forschungsdaten (Open Research Data) stellen einen wichtigen Bereich von Open Science dar und fördern das Vertrauen in die Wissenschaft. Werden Daten frei von technischen, finanziellen oder rechtlichen Barrieren verfügbar gemacht, so ermöglicht dies eine bessere Auffindbarkeit, Effizienzsteigerungen und eine bessere Qualitätssicherung. Denn vielfach sind Forschungsdaten derzeit noch unzugänglich, lagern auf USB-Sticks und privaten Datenträgern. Durch eine vermehrte Veröffentlichung und umfassende Dokumentation können Forschungsergebnisse zudem besser auf Robustheit überprüft und reproduziert werden. Open Research Data trägt folglich dazu bei, das im Zuge der Replikationskrise gefährdete Vertrauen in die Wissenschaft zu stärken.

Das Verfügbarmachen von Forschungsdaten wird allmählich zum Standard und stellt auch einen zentralen Baustein guter wissenschaftlicher Praxis und reproduzierbarer Forschung dar. Damit einhergehen sollte ein systematisches Forschungsdatenmanagement, das zudem viele praktische Vorteile für den Forschungsalltag bietet. Außerdem verlangen Forschungsorganisationen zunehmend, dass Forschende Datenmanagementpläne erstellen, die darüber Aufschluss geben, wie sie ihre Forschungsdaten verfügbar machen.

Open Data kann im Allgemeinen von anderen heruntergeladen, analysiert, nachgenutzt und geteilt werden. Die Nennung der Datengebenden ergibt sich aus der Lizenz, unter der die Daten veröffentlicht wurden (zum Beispiel CC-BY 4.0). Allerdings sind Offenheit und Transparenz bei Forschungsdaten aus guten Gründen manchmal nicht 100% umsetzbar. Forschungsdaten sollten daher “as open as possible and as closed as necessary” sein, in der Wissenschaft wird in diesem Zusammenhang auch von FAIR Data gesprochen. Allein dass die Existenz von Daten überhaupt bekannt ist, stellt aber bereits einen ersten wichtigen Schritt dar.

Diese Vorteile bietet Open Data

Vorteile für Forschende:

  • Höhere Zitationsraten: Text-Publikationen, zu denen Daten verfügbar gemacht werden, werden häufiger zitiert. Schließlich werden sie auch häufiger gelesen und als seriöser wahrgenommen. Durch eine eigenständige Veröffentlichung können die Daten zudem selbst zitiert werden. Somit kann eine einzige Publikation dank Open Data zu mehr Zitationen führen.
  • Für Ihre Forschungskarriere wichtige Anerkennung: Wenn Sie Open Data praktizieren, verbessern Sie die Auffindbarkeit und Sichtbarkeit Ihrer Forschung – und können somit leichter die für Ihre Forschungskarriere wichtige Anerkennung erhalten.
  • Neue Kooperationsmöglichkeiten: Die höhere Aufmerksamkeit für Ihre Forschung kann auch zu neuen Möglichkeiten der Zusammenarbeit führen.

Vorteile für die Wissenschaftsgemeinschaft:

  • Leichterer Zugang zu nützlichen Daten: Forschende bekommen leichter Zugang zu wichtigen Daten. Auch ist die Erstellung höherwertiger Datenprodukte (etwa Indizes, Datenbanken) durch Zusammenführung von Daten möglich.
  • Verwendung in der Lehre: Daten werden für die Lehre und somit auch für Studierende zugänglich, die anhand realer Forschungsdaten die Anwendung von Methoden erlernen können.
  • Effizientere Forschung: Durch offene Daten wird Doppelarbeit vermieden und Sekundäranalysen können durchgeführt werden. Eine umfassende wissenschaftliche Auswertung der Daten und Verwertung (etwa in Folgeprojekten) ist möglich.
  • Daten werden archiviert und für die zukünftige Nutzung erhalten: Die Veröffentlichung von Daten in Repositorien schützt vor einem Datenverlust und dem Risiko, dass sie aufgrund veralteter Formate nicht mehr nutzbar sind.
  • Neue Forschung wird ermöglicht: Da bereits vorhandene Daten in neue Analysen eingebracht werden können, werden neue und interdisziplinäre Forschung gefördert. Einer anderen Person mit einem anderen Blickwinkel kann auf der Basis scheinbar belangloser Daten möglicherweise eine wichtige Entdeckung gelingen.

Vorteile für die Öffentlichkeit:

  • Möglichkeiten für Citizen Science: Durch Open Data entstehen neue Möglichkeiten für Citizen Science.
  • Wirtschaftliche Vorteile für die Privatwirtschaft: Schätzungen zufolge könnte das globale BIP durch Open Data in allen Sektoren gesteigert werden. Hierbei nehmen wissenschaftliche Daten eine zentrale Rolle ein. Die Wirtschaft profitiert von einem einfacheren Zugang zu Informationen und mehr Kooperationsmöglichkeiten und kann im Gegenzug neue Services und Geschäftsmodelle entwickeln.
  • Öffentliches Vertrauen in die Wissenschaft: Open Data fördert das Vertrauen in die Forschung, da die Robustheit veröffentlichter Forschungsergebnisse überprüft und Forschungsergebnisse reproduziert werden können.
Es sind die Vorteile von Open Data aufgeführt.

Das Öffnen und Teilen von Forschungsdaten lohnt sich also: Wer ihre:seine Forschungsdaten mit anderen teilt, unterstützt die Forschungscommunity – und profitiert wiederum vom offenen Umgang anderer mit Daten.

Wissensdatenbank Open Data

Erfahren Sie, wie Open Data Forschung überprüfbar macht: für eine einfach zugängliche und stärker zitierte Wissenschaft mit hohem Impact!

Open Data in den Wirtschaftswissenschaften

Open Data ist in den letzten Jahren ein wichtiger Bereich für Forschende geworden. Dazu beigetragen hat, dass die zunehmende Anzahl an wissenschaftlichen Datensätzen zu mehr Fragen rund um deren Zugang, Nutzung und Kuratierung führt. In den Wirtschaftswissenschaften spielen die gestiegene Bedeutung empirischer Forschung und die zunehmende freie Verfügbarkeit von Forschungsdaten eine große Rolle. Daten der amtlichen Statistik werden von statistischen Ämtern national wie international nach dem Prinzip der “Open Government Data” frei im Internet zugänglich gemacht. Das Spektrum an Forschungsdaten, die für Open Data interessant sind, ist groß: Forschungsdaten sind alle Daten, die im Zuge wissenschaftlicher Vorhaben entstehen. Bei den meisten wissenschaftlichen Publikationen wird bislang allerdings nur ein kleiner Teil der während der Forschung erhobenen Daten in der finalen Publikation veröffentlicht.

Die Wissenschaft profitiert davon, wenn die gesamten Daten eines Projektes so schnell wie möglich öffentlich zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Der schnellste Weg ist, den Datensatz direkt in einem Repository zu hinterlegen. Eine weitere Möglichkeit besteht darin, eine Datenpublikation zu veröffentlichen, die hauptsächlich aus dem Datensatz und dessen Beschreibung besteht. Da Daten, die im Zuge öffentlich geförderter Forschung erstellt wurden, ein öffentliches Gut sind, fordern immer mehr Forschungsförderer ein, dass sie offen verfügbar gemacht werden.

Mehr Zitationsvorteile

Gehört werden über Forschungsgrenzen hinaus

Mehr Transparenz

Replikationen sind harte Arbeit, die sich auszahlt

Mehr Sichtbarkeit im Feld

Open Science ist die Zukunft

Bessere Vernetzung

Open Science erfordert und fördert internationale Vernetzung

Diese Seite teilen: