Making research better with Open Science

Welcome to the Open Economics Guide, the central information point on the topic of Open Science for researchers from the field of economics. In this guide you will discover (more about the guide) how Open Science can enrich your research too, and increase your research success in the field of economics.

You make your research better with Open Science. Because Open Science opens up the scientific process. In an ideal situation, everything from the initial idea to the final publication is made openly accessible, replicable and reusable via the internet. Behind this lies the conviction that scientific findings should be openly shared as early as possible with as many people as possible, including those outside science.

Open Science is based on four fundamental principles:

  1. Transparency
  2. Reproducibility
  3. Reusability
  4. Open communication

Open Science is therefore in harmony with the established principles of good scientific practice. Good research is also distinguished by the fact that it promotes a culture of transparency among researchers and strives to maximise the benefits for society.

The Open Science movement began in the 2000s, thanks to the initiative of dedicated researchers. Open Science is now an element of many funding programmes and declarations.

These are the advantages offered by Open Science

Open Science represents best practice for scientific working through using the opportunities of digitalisation. It improves the quality and the credibility of research, which is important in view of the replication crisis and the associated loss of trust.

Es ist ein motivierender Forscher zu sehen, der die Vorteile von Open Science aufzeigen.

Open Science is not an end in itself but addresses current problems that exist within science:

  • Speeding up scientific progress: Open Science improves and speeds up research through increased transparency and better access to scientific findings. The fast knowledge exchange that Open Science enables leads to more collaboration and innovations in economics and society, thereby helping to answer complex research questions quicker.
  • Increasing trust in research results: Through the open access to scientific publications and research data, Open Science enables in-depth Peer Review to take place. This increases the reproducibility and transparency of research work, improving the quality of the research and promoting trust in science.
  • Avoiding wastage of resources: Open Science raises the efficiency of scientific work by ensuring better reusability and avoiding duplication of work, thereby creating positive economic effects. Open Science also contributes to the reduction of publication costs.
  • Minimising inequality, including in access to science: Open Science promotes equal opportunity, for example if scientific results are also made accessible to researchers in developing countries, if collaboration and the inclusion of larger sections of society in science are promoted. This makes it easier to introduce new research questions, thereby promoting critical thinking as well as scientific expertise in society.
  • Making publicly promoted research publicly accessible: Open Science makes publicly funded research results openly accessible. Taxpayers receive more value for their money. Open Science thereby has a higher impact and creates economic advantages.

Open Science thereby leads to a number of improvements for individual researchers, the entire science system and society at large.

Knowledge Base Open Science

Learn how Open Science makes research better: For faster and more efficient high impact science!

Open Science in economics

Open Science is increasingly being used in practice in the field of economics. It is primarily based on six main areas that serve to open individual parts of the scientific process:

  • Open Access: Publishing research results in an open way, and making them usable and accessible for each person
  • Open Data: Making research data public as widely as possible and making it reusable as FAIR Data
  • Open Educational Resources: Using free and open materials for education and in teaching, and making them available yourself
  • Open Methodology: Documenting the use of methods as well as the entire process behind them, if this is practicable and relevant
  • Open Source: Using open source technologies (hardware and software) and opening up your own technologies
  • Open Peer Review: Transparent and replicable quality assurance through Open Peer Review

Openness is a win-win situation for society, science and your own career. So what are you waiting for?

More response

Technical skills and openness go together

Essential for scientific quality

We profs need to be role models for Open Science

High visibility

Open Science opens many doors

More Impact

Open Access increases the impact and the visibility of research

Research for society

Let society share in scientific knowledge

Better collaboration

Openness is now the rule for big invitations to tender for research

Share this page:

Forschung mit Open Science besser machen

Willkommen beim Open Economics Guide, der zentralen Anlaufstelle zum Thema Open Science für Forschende aus den Wirtschaftswissenschaften. Erfahren Sie in diesem Guide (mehr über den Guide), wie Open Science auch Ihre Forschung bereichern kann, und steigern Sie Ihren Forschungserfolg in den Wirtschaftswissenschaften.

Mit Open Science machen Sie Ihre Forschung besser. Denn Open Science öffnet den wissenschaftlichen Prozess. Im Idealfall wird alles von der ersten Idee bis zur finalen Publikation über das Internet offen zugänglich, nachvollziehbar sowie nachnutzbar gemacht. Dahinter steht die Überzeugung, dass wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse so früh wie möglich mit möglichst vielen Menschen offen geteilt werden sollten, auch außerhalb der Wissenschaft.

Open Science beruht auf vier Grundprinzipien:

  1. Transparenz
  2. Reproduzierbarkeit
  3. Wiederverwendbarkeit
  4. Offene Kommunikation

Open Science steht damit im Einklang mit den etablierten Prinzipien guter wissenschaftlicher Praxis. Gute Forschung zeichnet sich dadurch aus, dass sie eine Kultur der Transparenz unter Forschenden fördert und danach strebt, den Nutzen für die Gesellschaft zu maximieren.

Die Open-Science-Bewegung begann in den 2000er Jahren dank der Initiative engagierter Forschender. Mittlerweile ist Open Science Bestandteil von vielen Förderprogrammen und Erklärungen.

Diese Vorteile bietet Open Science

Open Science stellt das Best-Practice für wissenschaftliches Arbeiten unter Nutzung der Chancen der Digitalisierung dar. Sie verbessert die Qualität und die Glaubwürdigkeit der Forschung, was auch angesichts der Replikationskrise und dem damit verbundenen Vertrauensverlust wichtig ist.

Es ist ein motivierender Forscher zu sehen, der die Vorteile von Open Science aufzeigen.

Open Science ist kein Selbstzweck, sondern adressiert gegenwärtige Probleme in der Wissenschaft:

  • Wissenschaftlichen Fortschritt beschleunigen: Open Science verbessert und beschleunigt Forschung durch erhöhte Transparenz und besseren Zugang zu wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen. Der schnellere Wissenstransfer durch Open Science führt zu mehr Zusammenarbeit und Innovationen in Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft und hilft dabei, komplexe Forschungsfragen schneller zu beantworten.
  • Vertrauen in Forschungsergebnisse steigern: Open Science ermöglicht durch den offenen Zugang zu wissenschaftlichen Publikationen und zu Forschungsdaten einen gründlichen Peer-Review. Damit wird die Reproduzierbarkeit und Transparenz von Forschungsarbeit erhöht, was der Qualität der Forschung zugute kommt und das Vertrauen in die Wissenschaft fördert.
  • Ressourcenverschwendung vermeiden: Open Science erhöht die Effizienz wissenschaftlicher Arbeit, etwa durch bessere Wiederverwendbarkeit und die Vermeidung von Doppelarbeit, und hat damit positive ökonomische Auswirkungen. Außerdem trägt Open Science zur Reduktion von Publikationskosten bei.
  • Ungleichheit verringern, auch beim Zugang zur Wissenschaft: Open Science fördert Chancengleichheit, beispielsweise wenn wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse, auch für Forschende in Entwicklungsländern zugänglich gemacht werden, wenn Zusammenarbeit und die Einbindung von größeren Teilen der Gesellschaft in die Wissenschaft gefördert werden. So können auch leichter neue Forschungsfragen eingebracht und kritisches Denken sowie die wissenschaftliche Kompetenz in der Gesellschaft gefördert werden.
  • Öffentlich geförderte Forschung öffentlich zugänglich machen: Open Science macht öffentlich geförderte Forschungsergebnisse offen zugänglich. Steuerzahler:innen bekommen mehr Wert für ihr Geld. Open Science hat damit einen höheren Impact und führt zu ökonomischen Vorteilen.

Open Science führt somit zu einer Vielzahl an Verbesserungen für einzelne Forschende, das gesamte Wissenschaftssystem und die Gesellschaft.

Wissensdatenbank Open Science

Erfahren Sie, wie Open Science Forschung besser macht: für eine schnellere und effizientere Wissenschaft mit hohem Impact!

Open Science in den Wirtschaftswissenschaften

Open Science wird in der wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Praxis vermehrt angewendet. Sie basiert im Wesentlichen auf sechs Hauptbereichen, die dazu dienen, jeweils einzelne Teile des wissenschaftlichen Prozesses zu öffnen:

  • Open Access: Forschungsergebnisse in offener Art und Weise publizieren, und für jede Person nutzbar und zugänglich machen
  • Open Data: Forschungsdaten so weit möglich öffentlich und für andere nachnutzbar als FAIR Data zur Verfügung stellen
  • Open Educational Resources: Freie und offene Materialien für Bildung und in der Lehre verwenden und selbst zur Verfügung stellen
  • Open Methodology: Die Anwendung von Methoden sowie den gesamten Prozess dahinter soweit praktikabel und relevant dokumentieren
  • Open Source: Quelloffene Technologien (Hard- und -Software) verwenden und eigene Technologien öffnen
  • Open Peer Review: Transparente und nachvollziehbare Qualitätssicherung durch offenes Peer Review

Offenheit ist eine „Win-Win“-Situation, für die Gesellschaft, die Wissenschaft und Ihre eigene Karriere. Worauf warten Sie noch?

Mehr Resonanz

Wo technische Kompetenz steckt, ist auch Offenheit

Essentiell für wissenschaftliche Qualität

Wir Profs müssen die Role Models für Open Science sein

Hohe Sichtbarkeit

Open Science öffnet viele Türen

Mehr Impact

Open Access erhöht den Impact und die Sichtbarkeit von Forschung

Forschung für die Gesellschaft

Die Gesellschaft an Erkenntnissen teilhaben lassen

Bessere Kooperation

Bei großen Ausschreibungen ist Offenheit heute oft die Regel

Diese Seite teilen: